Public Safety

About the Scottsbluff Department

The City of Scottsbluff is the largest city in western Nebraska and serves as a primary service hub for western Nebraska and eastern Wyoming.  Scottsbluff is centrally located in the Nebraska Panhandle with communities along the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains within 3 hours driving distance to include Cheyenne, Wyoming and Fort Collins, Colorado.  

The Scottsbluff Police Department is housed in a common structure that also houses the Scottsbluff Fire Departmentand the Region 22 Emergency Management Office.  The Scottsbluff Police Department consists of 35 full time employees, 31 of whom are certified police officers.  The Department's command staff includes the Chief of Police, two Captains and an Administrative Assistant.  The Department also dedicates an employee to serve as a Region 22 Emergency Management Director of Scotts Bluff and Banner Counties.  Supporting the command staff are five Sergeants, four of whom are assigned to the Patrol Division and one who serves as an Administrative Sergeant overseeing Investigative Services.  Investigative Services in comprised of five personnel, two of whom serve in the Western Nebraska Intelligence and Narcotics Group/High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Task Force (WING/HIDTA).  Three Records Technicians provide customer service support in addition to their other duties.

In addition to providing basic police services, the Department maintains a School Resource Officer Program in cooperation with the Scottsbluff Public School District, a Police K-9 Program, a Bicycle Patrol Program and an Animal Control Officer Program.  The Department also provides oversight and support in maintaining a Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) Unit and a certified Explosives Ordinance and Disposal Team.

The City of Scottsbluff contracts with the City of Terrytown for police services.  The Department remains the most active law enforcement organization in western Nebraska responding to 16,091 calls for service in 2010 and to 14,728 calls for service in 2011.